Memory Wreath

9 Nov

I am a sentimental fool.  I think I get it honestly.  My mom is quite sentimental, also. 

I turned 40 yesterday.  Yep, the big 4-0.  Does it feel any different?  Not really…except for the fact that I now know that I am 40, I still feel 35….I probably still act 25! 

Last night my Mom and Dad gave me the sweetest gift….a Memory Wreath.  Or at least, that is what I am calling it.  It is a wreath that my mom put together that has things on it that have to do with my life.

Some of the items on it:

  • pictures of my family (mom, dad, jk, & me)
  • birthstone ring
  • peanut (I was born in Dothan, home of the Peanut Festival)
  • 2 or 3 angel pins (my grandmother collected angels)
  • Russian Laquer pin (I went to the USSR in the 11th grade)
  • Finnish spoon (I went to Finland the summer after my Senior year in high school)
  • a Robert E Lee pin (my high school)
  • a Disney Music Days pin (my high school 11th grade band trip)
  • a cat pin (I love cats….and the play CATS!)
  • an Eiffel tower (trip to France w/ my family)
  • strand of pearls (when I was in high school I wore pearls with **everything**!)
  • strands with my kids names on them
  • TSU pin
  • turtle pin (sorority)
  • Aubie pin
  • flute charm

and so much more!  I actually have some things at home that I plan to add to it, too.  What a terrific gift to receive on such a sweet day!

Leave a Reply

