In the Beginning…

22 Feb

EmmyJMommy

There is always a beginning, a middle and an end….always.  Whether in life, in a relationship or in a blog.  No, I am not leaving my blog.  I am not posting as much as I did at one time, but I am still around to give my takes on days, weeks, and even months and years in my family’s life.

Today I got to thinking about the beginning of this blog.  There was no rhyme or reason.  I just would write things that were on my mind or things that were going on.  Then I got on a cooking kick.  Trying new recipes and posting the end results…even getting together with a group of bloggers all trying the same Barefoot Contessa recipe in the same week.  A lot of those were very successful, but I am finding that right now, I need quick and easy…and Barefoot Contessa is not always quick and easy!

So, now basketball season for Button Boy is almost over…gymnastics is in full swing for Girly Girl…baseball season for the Montgomery Biscuits and Atlanta Braves will be here before you know it….along with the 100 degree dog days of summer.  Man, life just keeps on going!

We long to get home to the North Carolina mountains.  To show the kids Mount Mitchell and Grandfather Mountain, but everytime we get to Shelby, I don’t want to get in the car for another day of driving or riding…but we may have to next time.

We long to get to Atlanta to visit my Uncle Johnny and Aunt Gail.  We always have a wonderful time with them…and Button Boy loves to get into the woodshop at Uncle Johnny’s house to build stuff….last time it was a wooden boat!

Button Boy and I will travel to Cincinnati again in March for his next EGD at Children’s Hospital.  He has been on the lower dose of Flovent since December and hopefully these biopsies will show the same improvement as the last ones and we can begin to slowly add back some of the restricted food he has been off of….you know, Wheat, Egg, Nuts, Fish and Cinnamon.

Girly Girl is an amazingly bright child.  She is 10 years old and in the 4th grade, but she is learning things that I didn’t learn until I was in high school.  She loves school, loves her teacher (as she has every year at CCCA), loves her friends, and loves learning.  It is amazing to hear her recite what she has learned.  We pray that her enthusiasm continues over the next few years when school get more tough.

Button Boy enjoys school, but doesn’t want anyone to know it!  He adores his classmates, loves his teacher, and really loves reading!  He constantly asks if he can go to Books A Million and buy a book or two….and most of the time we allow him to, but now he is running out of room of places to put them.  Guess we’ll have to find a new bookshelf for his room!

I hope that the next few months sees our family doing a lot of activities together and taking loads of pictures and video to share with our friends and family who read this to keep up with us!

Keep checkin’ in…you never know what you’ll find!

Leave a Reply

