Cookie Carnival — April

22 Apr
Cookie Carnival

Cookie Carnival

This is my first month participating in the Cookie Carnival hosted by The CleanPlate Club.  April is being hosted by Holly of Phe-MOM-enon, and she chose Toasted Almond Lemon Bars from The Sweet Melissa Baking Book.

I **love** lemon!  I love its tartness…I love its aroma…I love its look!  I do not like almonds.  I am okay when they are roasted and salted and with other nuts.  I do not like almond extract.  I do not like them Sam I am.

So,  I *did* use my veto power on one ingredient, and used an alternatives on another.  I used almonds in the crust, and almond extract in the filling, but did not put any almonds on top.  Since Button Boy is allergic to eggs, I used Ener-G egg replacer in place of eggs in the filling.  It is the first time I have used this replacer. 

I followed the recipe pretty closely, but had problems with the crust.  While using my Food Processor to incorporate the butter into the dry ingredients, the butter just clumped into a ball with the dry ingredients.  I had to spend quite a bit of time getting the butter incorporated into the dry ingredients…but when I did get it done and was pressing the crust into my Pampered Chef Medium Bar Pan, there were two places that were just a solid pat of butter.  What did I do wrong???  If you know the answer, please post a comment and let me know!

I also had a problem with the crust sticking to the aluminum foil covered in dry bean weights (see picture)…, but I figured it didn’t really matter since it was going to be covered in the filling.

Lemon Bar Crust with dry bean weights

Lemon Bar Crust with dry bean weights

Like I said above, the only thing I changed in the filling was to use the egg replacer.  I noticed that the color of the lemon bar is not as yellow as the packaged lemon bars I have seen (I’ve never made a packaged one, actually I’ve never made a Lemon Bar until today) and then when I tried it, the almond extract sometimes stands out too much…and there is not enough lemon flavor to me….remember I ♥ lemon!

hot out of the oven!

hot out of the oven!

 

Isn't It Pretty?!

Isn't It Pretty?!

 

I can not wait to find out what the cookie for May is going to be!  Can’t wait to try a new recipe!!!!

emmyjmommy

One Response to “Cookie Carnival — April”

  1. Brittany April 22, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    You’re bringing me one tonight, right??

Leave a Reply

