Overwhelmed

4 Apr

Are you similar to me?  Do you have about 100 different goals that you want to meet, things you want to do, places you want to go, books you want to read, dishes you want to cook, rooms you want to redecorate, junk you want to get rid of?  Oh my!  I have so many of each of those things…and it just seems like I don’t have the stamina to get through everything…., or that there is so much running around in my little brain that I can’t get it all sorted out to get it all done. 

I have never been an organized person.  Never.  Those of you who know me, know exactly how true that is!  When I  was about Girly Girl’s age (she’s 8), I was in Brownie‘s.  I don’t remember much about Brownies, but at the end of one year, I “won” the LOST & LOST Award.!  I LOST everything I carried with me!  I couldn’t keep up with anything…and now it has rubbed off on both of my kiddos….I’m sure there is another post in there somewhere, but I need to stay on *this* subject for right now.

I started my FlyLady goal, and got my sink shined (step #1)…and was excited about moving through my house and getting it clean and organized.  Well, my sink is still shiny, but I didn’t make it through the rest of the house.  Not that I am not planning on doing so, but that is my point!  I have GREAT intentions, but my follow through sucks stinks!

Fly Lady

Fly Lady

I have been much better about our Menu Planning.  Now, let’s see if I can keep it up!  I am loving cooking!  I am finding that allowing Girly Girl work in the kitchen with me usually means she will eat better.  She wants to eat what she cooks….where, I find if I cook it, I don’t want to eat it.  I enjoy the process of cooking.  It will be interesting during the upcoming weeks to see how some of the new recipes I am finding over the internet turn out!  I am looking forward to cooking some new things!

My newest goal is to get myself out of this overwhelmed feeling I feel like I am struggling with constantly.  I think that may mean going back to FlyLady and re-trying the 31 Days of Beginner BabySteps.  Vickie at Not So SAHM posted about altering the FlyLady BabySteps to fit her and her life in her post here

Here is my “FlyLady Redux” Daily plan:  daily-to-do-list1

I plan on “beginning” this routine next week (the week of April 4th).  I know, I know…why not begin this week (the last week of March)?   The only thing I can say is I DON’T FEEL GOOD AND DON’T WANT TO TACKLE IT THIS WEEK!  Sorry for yelling and being blunt.  But, I haven’t been feeling well for over two weeks, and am going to Birmingham on Friday for an endoscope…I will post more about this drama when I have the results.

I will try to post some pictures of my messiness and my Flyin’ Cleanliness! 

Here’s to FLYIN’!

emmyjmommy

One Response to “Overwhelmed”

  1. Dawn April 6, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    Overwhelmed is EXACTLY what I’m feeling right now. I’m in the process of organizing and decorating my studio/craft room. It’s a huge mess right now and I’ve been procrastinating on tackling it. I know I need to “just do it”!

    I have to continually read organizing books and visit organizing websites to keep myself inspired to do my daily housework. The FlyLady is one site that I’ve visited and I really enjoy her site.

    I’ll be praying for you!

    xo,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

