Callaway Gardens

12 Mar

Girly Girl’s 2nd grade class has made a butterfly garden and “grown” butterflies for the garden this year.  It has been a great time of learning and hands-on work for her and her classmates!  The 2nd grade class made it’s trip to Callaway Gardens to visit the Cecil B. Day Butterfly Pavilion on Monday.  My parent’s, Button Boy and I went along for the fun!!  We began with a picnic and some fellowship.  We then went to the Birds Of Prey Show where we saw a Red-Tailed Hawk, a Great Horned Owl, and a Barred Owl in free flight.  They swooped and flew down the aisles and over the audience…much to the dismay of Girly Girl!  The Red-Tailed Hawk swooped so close to her, that she began crying and wanting to leave IMMEDIATELY!  Luckily, she calmed down once the Hawk was put away and the owls came out.  We then made our way to the Pioneer Cabin where the kiddos looked around to see what life was like back in “The Little House” days.  From the Cabin, we made it finally to the Day Butterfuly Pavilion…and what a blessing!  We got to see such beautiful creations of God!  They are amazing creatures, and only God could have perfected the butterfly…from caterpillar, to chrysalis, to butterfly.  God is amazing!

In the van, on the way!

In the van, on the way!

 

Red-Tailed Hawk

Red-Tailed Hawk

 

Barred Owl

Barred Owl

 

What do you mean a butterfly on my head?

What do you mean a butterfly on my head?

 

Girly Girl's Butterfly

Girly Girl's Butterfly

One Response to “Callaway Gardens”

  1. notsosahm March 12, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    I remember going to re butterfly pavilion when I was very young…or to Callaway Gardens at least. I don’t remember many details but I do remember enjoying it.

    I have a video in one of my posts from last year of a butterfly hatching from its chrysallis. I don’t know the exact link but if you want to see it there is a search feature on my blog. It was so cool!

Leave a Reply

