2009 — What to Expect?

1 Jan

As most people do at this time of the year, I have been contemplating the new year — 2009.  Wow!  I was born in 1971….I graduated from high school in 1990…I graduated from college in 1994…I met my future husband in 1996 and we were married in 1997.  We celebrated the “beginning of the new millennium” in 2000, only to find out that it really began in 2001??  (or something like that).  I gave birth to my daughter, Girly Girl, in 2000.  We moved from North Carolina to Alabama, 5 weeks after she was born, in 2000.  I gave birth to my son, Button Boy, in 2003….2003 and 2004 are a blur of hospital stays, surgeries on Button Boy and serious illnesses for Girly Girl.  2005, I had gastric bypass that changed my life…2006, did I actually do anything in 2006???  2007 was the year of plastic surgery….and 2008, well, I’m lucky to have made it through in one piece!

EmmyJMommy

EmmyJMommy

2009

There are a few things I would love to see happen in 2009.

I would like to simplify my life.  I feel like we have absorbed the world more than I ever meant to.  My small little family has lost it’s sight of what is really important.  Simplicity is where I feel like we need to be.  I would like to put our emphasis back on our Lord and Saviour, first and foremost.  I would like for my husband and children to see me a wife and mother of God’s Word.

 …women to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled, pure, working at home, kind, and submissive to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be reviled.  Titus 2:4-5

I have failed miserably as a wife and a mother…and it is my prayer to return to God’s Word, diligently…daily.  To not sit idly by and watch this life that God has blessed me with just go by without living by grace through the faith He has blessed me with.

I would like to be a better friend and accountability partner with my sisters in Christ.  I have let them down in that past year by not following through with commitments, by not holding them accountable to God’s Word and by not staying in God’s Word myself.  I pray that they will forgive me (EBD & MMM)….and I pray that I can recommit myself to them.  (an aside to them personally, I have talked with Mojo about having some more time to renew and recommit to our friendships.  I love you both dearly!)

Those two things, being enormous and overwhelming for myself to admit to and commit to, are where I hope to work to during 2009. 

2009 is a very promising year….as most new year’s are…., but it holds so much more for me.  I have the hope, faith, trust, love and support of my family and friends….but especially my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

2 Responses to “2009 — What to Expect?”

  1. notsosahm January 3, 2009 at 8:16 pm #

    I want the same thing: simplicity. I think that’s what my “plans” boil down to. Simplicity. And I’m incorporating that Bible verse too. Thank you 😉

  2. K. Skipper January 7, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    Amen, and me too!

Leave a Reply

