Thanksgiving

28 Nov

For Thanksgiving this year, we visited my mother’s family in Elba, AL.  We go every other year to Mojo’s parent’s in North Carolina, and then the opposite years to Elba.  I grew up having Thanksgiving with this side of the family every year, and looked forward to it every year!  Great food, wonderful company and FOOTBALL!!! 

This year, Girly Girl created a Thanksgiving Notebook the week of school before the week long break.  The first page has a grinny picture of her above Psalm 139:13-17.

 For you formed my inward parts;
you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.
I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.
Wonderful are your works;
my soul knows it very well.
My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret,
intricately woven in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed substance;
in your book were written, every one of them,
the days that were formed for me,
when as yet there was none of them.

 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
How vast is the sum of them!

The next page is the story of Squanto–it tells of how God used Squanto through the struggles of his capture by the English around 1608, his release more than 10 years later, and his heartbreak upon learning that his village had been wiped out by an epidemic.  Governor William Bradford said in his diary,  {Squanto} “became a special instrument sent of God for our good.”

Girly Girl wrote on the next page, Psalm 136:1

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good,
for his steadfast love endures forever.

The next three pages tell what she is thankful for…but I am really writing about the last page.  It really touched me this year.  The last page is titled and written as follows:

My Favorite Things About Thanksgiving

I have two favorite things I like about Thanksgiving.  My favorite are going to Elba and being with family.  I love going to Elba.  Going to Elba is a good way to cammunicate with family members.  Being with family is fun.  I like to be with family because it makes me feel safe.  these are my favorite things about Thanksgiving and are what make it so special.

(note:  I left the grammar and misspellings just as she wrote them)

Girly Girl 2008

Girly Girl 2008

Button Boy 2008

Button Boy 2008

 

One Response to “Thanksgiving”

  1. Matt Vaughan November 28, 2008 at 9:56 pm #

    Sure do wish I could have been there. But I will see you at Xmas!

Leave a Reply

