The Last Procedure

27 Nov

Emily & Dr. Andy DeWitt, September 14, 2005

I have been through multiple surgeries over the past few years.  2000, emergency c-section (after 36 hours of labor…a story for another time) to deliver Girly Girl; 2003, c-section to deliver an 11 pound Button Boy; 2004 – umbilical hyrnia repair, from Button Boy being 11 pounds!; 2005 – gastric bypass; 2006 – gall bladder removal; 2007 – May -panniculectomy; October – breast reduction, liposuction, & revision to panniculectomy…..so, by my count that is 7 surgeries in as many years.  Granted most of them were voluntary (or at least 3 of the last 4 were)…I am very glad that I had every single one.  I wish I had done my gastric bypass earlier, but that is only because I feel so good now!  I love my new body shape with all of my excess skin gone…my husband has the same view….uh…more or less!

All this to say, that over the last week of thinking of my life and what I have to be thankful for,  I am thankful this year to have completed my last procedure (Girly Girl says that I don’t really know that…only God knows!)…and to have had the support of my dh, kids, parents, in-laws, and friends.  I have not had one person in my life ask me WHY?! I was doing what I have done…they have all supported me and loved me through it all…especially my complaining and pains.

If there is one thing in this life God has blessed me with that I am most thankful for…it is my family and friends…I find it difficult to differentiate between the two because I love them all like they were family, and I hope I show that to them (you, if you are reading this) on a daily basis.

Emily 2 years post-op

Leave a Reply

