Backwards Day WFMW

3 Oct

BackwardsUpsidedownWFMW

 This week Shannon decided to turn things upside down and backwards on Works For Me Wednesday!  We are supposed to ask the question, and the comments for Bloggityville, USA, are going to answer the tough everyday questions that plague us moms/wives/women!  Now, the question is…WHICH QUESTION TO ASK?!

My question, hopefully will be one that many people will know how to answer!!

I have been redecorating our home one room at a time.  I began with Girly Girl’s room, then Button Boy…now, I’ll probably move to our room to have all of the bedrooms finished…my question —

How on earth do you purge the things that you and your children have “outgrown”  or don’t use any longer???  Yard Sale?  If so, how often and where on earth do you store it?!  Just (as Mojo says) donate it to the green monster sitting in the front yard (garbage can)??  Or donate it to a ministry center where they will have to go through all of the stuff and decide what they can keep and what they can’t?!  I need desperately to purge stuff junk mess from our home and I NEED HELP!

Thanks so much for any ideas, comments, suggestions!!!

13 Responses to “Backwards Day WFMW”

  1. Angie @ Many Little Blessings October 3, 2007 at 7:17 am #

    I have sometimes donated to Goodwill. Sometimes, I have sold things on Ebay. Sometimes, I have given things as hand-me-downs to family or friends. And, I have also taken things to a local church that does a consignment sale of kids stuff twice a year.

    Most importantly — I have done everything possible to get things out of my house. 😉

  2. maria October 3, 2007 at 8:06 am #

    Just get rid of it!!! Donate items that can be used by someone, I give clothes to a local church and toys, books and household stuff to St Vincent’s de Paul shops. Trash the rest. If you wait to have a yard sale you’ll never get rid of it. And you feel good once it’s GONE.

  3. Multitasking Mama October 3, 2007 at 9:05 am #

    Here’s what I do. Anything that’s worth money, I list on eBay. If it isn’t worth much I sell it at the yard sale (1-2 per year, spring and fall, at most). If I don’t want to deal with it, or if we have the yard sale and it doesn’t sell, I take it to the Salvation Army or list it on Freecycle.

    The problem with getting rid of kids things is that if they see their former toys leaving the house, they try to reclaim them… so I do these things as secretly as possible. 🙂

    Hope this helps!

  4. Becka October 3, 2007 at 9:12 am #

    craigslist.com or freecycle.com

    I choose to give everything away and since I have three kids I would have to haul to goodwill with me, I use these sites to find people who want my trash enough to come pick it up.
    THis is a way to be able to continuously purge too. You don’t have to hold onto it until you can get to goodwill or have a garage sale.

    If I do have a garage sale, I load everything into my driveway. Put up a big sign that says EVERYTHING IS FREE FREE FREE. Then I leave my house for a day of fun with the kids, and when I come home, all my junk has dissapeared.

  5. LEAH October 3, 2007 at 9:17 am #

    I TOO HAVE BEEN PURGING MY HOUSE AND I HAVE A THING ABOUT SELLING MY STUFF. I DID ALLOW MY TEENAGE SON TO HAVE SOME THINGS TO HAVE A YARD SALE TO HELP RAISE MONEY FOR FOOTBALL CAMP. I DONATE TO A LOCAL CHURCH BECAUSE IN ADDITION TO THEIR THRIFT STORE, THEY HAVE PARTNERED WITH A COMMUNITY PROGRAM AND THEY GIVE VOUCHERS TO THE PROGRAM AND THEN THE PEOPLE CAN COME IN AND GET STUFF FOR FREE. CLOTHES, OR WHATEVER. I LOVE THAT IDEA AS ALOT OF PEOPLE NEED A HAND NOW AND THEN. IT IS A BLESSING TO THE COMMUNITY.

  6. Jane October 3, 2007 at 10:27 am #

    I take a lot to Good Will. They have people who have limited job skills, so sorting that stuff is a job opportunity for them. Also, if it is worth anything I would reccommend Craigslist.org I haven’t sold anything there but I have gratefully bought a bunch of used stuff. No fees like ebay. I try to have a cheerful attitude about purging. I am helping someone else, recycling for the better of the Earth and making room in my home for new things/opportunities to use the space. Seriously only the junkiest junk gets the can.

  7. April October 3, 2007 at 1:02 pm #

    Looks like you have a lot of great advice. One thing I didn’t see answered though as I scanned is, where do you keep the stuff intended for a yardsale? I have Huge sterilite containers I store the junk in. If it was a perfect world I would price it as I threw it into the box but I don’t. I have also thought of leaving an empty tub in the kid’s closet to throw outgrown clothes into as you go. Once it is full switch out the tub.–stick a marker and stickers in there too and you’ll be really ready for the yard sale when time comes. Just a thought

  8. SummerM October 3, 2007 at 1:28 pm #

    If you have a local Freecycle you can just list what you have and people will come to you to pick up what they want/need. Nearly every area has one. Find out your’s by looking online at http://www.freecycle.org

  9. laane October 3, 2007 at 4:55 pm #

    Many things from my children go to others who want it.

    This morning a friend asked if i had some trousers for her girl.
    She got a couple, with matching t-shirts and sweaters, and a toy.
    I keep things that don’t fit anymore in a bag at the attick, well labeled. And at moments like these I can help someone.

    Otherwise I donate it to a churchsale, goodwill or whatever.

  10. Emily October 3, 2007 at 6:23 pm #

    If my “junk” is useful stuff, I list it on FreeCycle. There are groups all across the nation. It is nice because then people who want/need the things get them (instead of the trash bag!) and also sometimes you’ll meet nice people who’ll ask “oh by the way, do you have kids? I have clothes to give away…” and you can get things you need, too. It is a neat community.

  11. ABC October 3, 2007 at 6:34 pm #

    I would definitely donate if you can. There are so many organizations or charities that need help. Find a charity that you care about first! You can also see my WFMW from two weeks ago for more ideas… http://abc-ourlovebug.blogspot.com/2007/09/works-for-me.html
    Good luck… just make sure you’re in the “get rid of mood”… it will make you part with much more.

  12. sarahplaintall October 3, 2007 at 6:49 pm #

    I think it depends on what you’re getting rid of. We’ve learned that clothes don’t sell very well our yard sales, so I always take those to goodwill immediately or have one of those door-to-door pickups come by to get them. (same goes for shoes) Any bigger, bulkier items you could either a) donate to something like Freecycle (which we’ve done a couple of times – it’s a great program!) or b) try to sell it on ebay. Also, I’ve heard of lots of people using Craigslist…I haven’t used it personally, but it seems like they’ve got a good thing going.
    I think it just depends on if you feel like it’s worth putting the time/effort into a yard sale. If it’s easy to pull together quickly, you can make an easy $50-100, depending on how much you have to sell.

  13. Maurice Jones October 4, 2007 at 3:30 pm #

    Donate it……to the Montgomery Sanitation Department

Leave a Reply

