Weight Loss

2 Oct

As of September 15, 2007, I am two years post-surgery on my Gastric Bypass surgery.  It was a huge life altering event in my life.  I have had wonderful support from my family and friends…and I have changed my lifestyle tremendously!

Emily & Dr. Andy DeWitt, September 14, 2005

I have lost a total of 115 lbs…I could lose more, but have gotten relaxed in my eating habits.  I still weigh myself every day to make sure I am not gaining…so I can alter things to make sure I don’t end up back at 325 lbs (see above picture).

Please, if you know someone who is considering this surgery…support them.  This is a very serious decision to make in one’s life…it is usually the last avenue for people, I know it was for me!

I am always willing to talk to anyone about my experience with the Roux-en-Y procedure and my wonderful surgeon.

Emily 2 years post-op

2 Responses to “Weight Loss”

  1. Gayle October 3, 2007 at 1:43 pm #

    Wow, you are beautiful! Great job. I know that this is NOT the easy way out that some people think. There is still alot of work involved so good job for all your efforts and life changes!

  2. Joana October 5, 2007 at 12:39 am #

    Congratulations on the success. Your post is really touching and helpful to many people who are considering surgery. You are brave and a good example for many men and women who feel there is no hope or solution. Sadly enough, sometimes, people do not have support and already feel so defeated. They think it’s not worth it. Your blog will change all that.

    I must add, I have a neighbor who also opted for Roux-en-Y from My Weight Loss Surgeon (http://www.myweightlosssurgeon.com/) and now is hundreds of pounds lighter and you truly can see the light in her face. We are all so proud of her and I am sure your near and dear ones feel exactly the same about you. I will recommend this post to others.

    Once again, congratulations and God bless!

Leave a Reply

