Remembering…

11 Sep

sept11.jpg

As I awoke this morning and was getting ready, I was in “habit-mode”…I turned on the television to WSFA’s Today in Alabama.  They were talking about six years ago this morning….I remember it vividly.

There are few days in my life that I can recall with absolute clarity….the day of my grandmother passing, the day before Girly Girl was born (I was drugged the day she was born), the day that G-Tube Boy was born, the day Mojo proposed…and September 11, 2001. 

Girly Girl and I were still staying at home and we watched the Today Show every morning…and this morning was no different, until we actually got it on and Matt and Katie were in disbelief over what was happening.  It took about 3 minutes for them to get to the point of what was going on, but when they did, it hit me like a ton of bricks!  I did not personally know anyone that was in New York, but it was a scary sensation to see the live coverage of people running through the streets…it was even scarier to see the towers crumble.  The scariest thing in our family was the Pentagon.  We have a cousin who lives outside of DC, and we were very concerned for her safety.  That day I prayed…a lot.  God is good, all the time, and I never doubted His soveriegnty in all of the tragedy of that day.  I still don’t.  I know that we have not seen the last of His work through this event…and I praise Him for that work and diligence.

I am taking some time today to pray fervently for our nation’s leaders, our military, and the families who were effected by the tragedy six years ago. 

Matthew 5:44
“But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you” 

I will also pray for those who claim to be enemies of our great nation.  Not because my sinly flesh wants to, but because I am commanded to. 

I hope others will take time today to pray…pray endlessly — especially pray for our enemies and those who persecute us.

One Response to “Remembering…”

  1. Kathleen Marie September 12, 2007 at 9:15 am #

    My almost 16 year old son and I were talking about 9-11 and I was amazed at how clear that moment is still etched in his mind. Thanks for a nice post.

Leave a Reply

