Rite of Passage

5 Sep

Well, my baby girl has turned 7, and it is bittersweet. I am loving how independent and grown she is becoming, she is really blossoming into a Christ loving little girl.

We celebrated her birthday Sunday evening (the evening of her actual birthday) with Mojo’s mom & dad (mine are still out of town), JK, Kristan & baby girl , Elaine, Guitar Girl, Drama Girl, & Pooky Girl with just a cookie cake and ice cream.

This morning Elaine and I took Girly Girl and Guitar Girl to Club Libby Lu and we had a Pooch Parlor Makeover Party! Let me just say, it is the most fun I have had in a while! I LOVED EVERY MINUTE OF IT!

After the makeover, the Pooch Parlor and the singing and dancing, Elaine and I had the girl’s ears pierced! One of those “she’s growing up” rites of passage that I have been dreading preparing myself for. Well, Guitar Girl did a WONDERFUL job…did not flinch and smiled immediately.

Girly Girl on the other hand….it will surprise most of you (NOT!) that her experience was much more dramatic! About 10 – 15 minutes before the piercings happened, she got very quiet–which is very unlike her, unless she is getting upset/nervous. After Guitar Girl had hers done, we had full fledged crying screaming wailing drama queen antics!


I ended up sitting her down, and talking with her and trying to explain that she needed to calm down, that we would not have her ears pierced unless she wanted to…knowing that if we left there, she would NEVER want to return because fear would have gotten the best of her. The young ladies at Libby Lu, spoke with Elaine about a “secret wish” that Girly Girl could make, and during the 5 or so seconds that her eyes are closed, they could come up and pierce her ears. I immediately agreed to it, and talked with Girly Girl about sitting in the Big Girly Girl chair and making a wish. Let me tell you, the girls at Libby Lu know what they are doing!

Girly Girl had no clue it was coming…she cried for all of about 5 – 10 minutes, and after having a little Chic-Fil-A, she was glad she had gotten them done!

She has thanked me more times than I can count about getting her ears pierced today!! She is even talking about what type of earrings she wants to wear after she goes to her 6 week check-up!!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GIRLY GIRL!

One Response to “Rite of Passage”

  1. notsosahm February 23, 2009 at 10:14 pm #

    Oh my gosh, did we have twin experiences or what!?! I’m glad to know mine’s not the only sissy, I mean, overly cautious girl out there 😉

Leave a Reply

