Finding a New Passion

8 Apr

I have many passions in my life. 

I have a passion for God & His Word.  That passion needs no rekindling.  It is a passion that I struggle with….with other things overshadowing its importance.

I have a passion for my family.  My husband, who I truly believe God brought into my life at the perfect time.  God has given us the struggles and triumphs in His own perfect timing…we will never know why, nor will we doubt the reasons. 

I have a passion for my children.  I love my babies, and they will always be my babies.  I get made fun of for trying to keep my children young….for trying to keep Girly Girl in bishop dresses and big collars with a bow in her hair.  Trying to keep Button Boy in smocked rompers and barefooted.

I have a passion for friends.  I have some terrific friends.  I have to say, FaceBook has been a great thing to rekindle old friendships.  Mojo doesn’t like FaceBook as much as I do, but we also had totally different experiences in high school and college.  Through FaceBook, I have found a friend from the 5th grade!  I have reestablished some terrific friendships from Capitol Heights and Robert E. Lee….from my summers at Blue Ridge Leaders School….from Troy State, the Sound of the South and Tau Beta Sigma.

I could make this post extremely long by going through each and every thing in my life that I have passion for…but this is about a new passion….

I am finding that I have a new passion for COOKING

By the way I have always struggled with my weight, you would think I have always loved to cook.  But that isn’t true.  My mom cooked, but she cooked simple meals…and I was a terribly finicky eater!  I never really was interested in learning to cook.  When I got into college and lived with my brother, we cooked simple meals.  Chicken fingers, spaghetti….those types of simple meals.  When I moved to Tallahassee with my two best friends, we cooked, but nothing complex.  Chrissy was the best cook of the 3 of us.  CJ’s specialty was BBQ Chicken & Yellow Rice (Girly Girl loves this meal, and calls it Aunt Charla Chicken & Rice!).  My specialty…hmmm…I don’t think I had one!

After Mojo and I got married, I got made fun of by him and his sister (my darlin’ sweet sister-in-law with whom I share a first name and maiden name!) about two cooking stories…cooking stories where I am the chef and things don’t go exactly by the recipe.  I accept my right to take the 5th….and may at some point in my life, tell those stories.

I have enjoyed grilling out…and have been able to cook very simple meals.  I can read a recipe, and follow it.

My Menu Plans over the past month have had more complex meals on them than I have ever really cooked.  I have made a very good Mac-N-Cheese by Martha Stewart.  I have made a stuffed chicken recipe that I saw on a Rachael Ray show.  The Parmesan & Thyme Crackers I made from Pennies on a Platter, were terrific and I’ve made them more than once!

All of this said, I am joining two online food blogger groups. 

First,

Cookie Carnival

Cookie Carnival

Once a month a cookie is assigned, and during the month you cook it, blog about it and post a picture.  I can do that!  I am actually looking forward to it….I am going to attempt to do as many of the cookies egg-free for Button Boy!  That way, he can enjoy them with the rest of us!

Second,

Barefoot Blogger

Barefoot Blogger

The Barefoot Contessa has a group of bloggers that remake two recipes a month.  On the specified date, you blog about the recipe with pictures.  I ♥ The Barefoot Contessa’s Food Network show….and she has a new one beginning, along with her new cookbook.  Ina Garten’s recipes have always intimidated me, but she is a stickler for measuring, and I am too…(one of the reasons I haven’t tried Nellie’s Chicken & Dumplin’s!)…So, I am going to attempt the Barefoot Bloggers group!

Here’s to the new passion of cooking….and hoping the new passion of “eating my cooking” comes to my family!!!!

emmyjmommy

3 Responses to “Finding a New Passion”

  1. chocolatechic April 9, 2009 at 9:37 am #

    Welcome to the group.

    God is so faithful.

  2. notsosahm April 9, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    Have you looked at Rachel Ray’s magazine? We are always trying new things. In fact, I think my girls will grow up not being able to name my ‘constant’ recipes. There aren’t many things we have twice but that’s because everything is so good. We’ve only had one of her recipes turn out blah.

  3. Pennies on a Platter April 11, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    How exciting that you have joined those two groups! You’ll have so much fun and will learn a lot I’m sure! I’ve found that having a food blog has forced me to enhance my culinary skills… and boy, am I ever grateful for such an enjoyable hobby!

    I love what you shared about your faith, too. Thanks for the encouragement! Happy Easter! He is Risen! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.